Global injection triggers Bitdefender antivirus (Gen:Adware.SMSHoax.4)

So this is my first time ever using this program. I was going to use it for Saints Row: The Third Remastered, or at least see if I could use it for that game. Anyways, following instructions on the mod page, I was told to start the global injection. Whenever I do though, Bitdefender (my antivirus) says this: “Injection detected as Gen:Adware.SMSHoax.4 was preformed by C:\Windows\SysWOW64\rundll32.exe and was blocked. Your device is safe.” I’ve never had this issue before with anything. I looked up this SMSHoax.4 and couldn’t find much. I did find something about SMSHoax.3 though, and it looks just like your average adware. I don’t know if this is packaged with SpecialK or if it’s somewhere else on my computer, but it only gets detected while using the SpecialK global injection. I’m probably just not gonna use this program, but figured I’d let you know.

Thanks for the report. Which download of Special K was it that you used? And what file was being flagged? We sorta need to know that to know what specific file we need to report as a false positive to BitDefender :slight_smile:

Eventually Special K will start to be signed using a code signing certificate which hopefully should minimize or prevent these mistakes from happening.

If you want to know more about why it was reported:

Anti-malware suites work through various methods, one of which is by detecting code segments shared between different malicious objects. Sadly, however, many times whatever virus signature the anti-malware suite have detected to be used by malicious items is or may also be used by legitimately safe items.